ANNUAL REPORT, Atlantic Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers (ACAG/ACGA)

14 APRIL 2022

The ACAG Executive membership consists of: Dr. David Lieske (MTA), ACAG President (2019-2022); Dr. Guy Vincent (UdeM), ACAG Secretary-Treasurer (2019-2022); Dr. Carissa Brown (MUN), Member-at-Large (2019-22); Dr. Mathew Novak (SMU), Member-at-Large (2019-22).

The 30th meeting of the ACAG (ACAG 2021) was held virtually on November 5-6th, 2021, and was hosted by Mount Allison University. There were 22 official registrants, with 5 being CAG members in good standing. The keynote lecture, titled: "How to Stop Global Warming: Earth's Carbon Cycle and the Necessity of Net-zero Emissions", was delivered by Dr. Andrew MacDougall (StFX) on November 5th.



There were six presenters during the main meeting on November 6th, with two student prizes awarded: First prize: Shreya Nemani (MUN), for a talk titled: "Taxonomic and functional diversity of coastal benthic assemblages in Placentia Bay, Newfoundland"; and second prize: Erin Pearson (MUN), for a talk titled: "Searching for climate change solutions in Newfoundland's urban forests". There were no poster submissions.

ACAG executive elections were held during the general meeting on the 6th, with Dr. David Lieske ending his term as ACAG President in fall, 2022. Dr. Carissa Brown (MUN) accepted a nomination to assume the role of ACAG President (fall 2022 - fall 2025) while Dr. David Lieske (MTA) accepted the nomination to continue to serve as ACAG member-at-large (fall 2022- fall 2025). In 2022, Dr. Guy Vincent (UdeM), who will be both retiring from the UdeM as well as

stepping down as Secretary-Treasurer after serving for many years in this role, was succeeded by the nomination of Dr. Mat Novak (St. Mary's) as Secretary-Treasurer, 2022-2025. Dr. Josh Lepawsky (MUN) was nominated to serve as member-at-large (fall 2022-fall 2025). Johnathan Carter accepted a nomination to serve as a student member (fall 2022-fall 2023). All nominations were carried.

ACAG finances remain in good shape. Total expenses for 2021 were \$725.35, consisting of student awards (\$400); travel expenses associated with the keynote speaker, Dr. Andrew MacDougall (StFX) (\$200); and an engraving expense associated with the Semple Award trophy (\$125.35). Balance as of year-end was \$5,179.65.

Professor Mike Fox, who retired from Mount Allison University in July, 2021, was awarded the ACAG Stuart Semple Award (*in absentia*) during the general meeting of the membership in recognition of his contributions to geographic education in Atlantic Canada. Professor Fox provided the following acceptance speech:



"Well, this is a wonderful surprise for me, I must say. It is truly an honor to be nominated for and awarded the ACAG Stuart Semple Award. Thank you very much for your nomination and the kind words of support... I first met Stuart back in 1992 at a summer geography teaching institute with National Geographic and the RCGS and have been inspired by his tireless work in geography education across the next 30 years. Who could have imagined that I would come to share an office with him here at MTA and to continue to have

regular discussions on the state of geographic education and his regular visits for lunch. Stuart, your message today is further support of your deep connection to the discipline and your professional mentorship and lasting friendship. Thanks so much to you and your family of geographers for all your support over these many years.

Ironically, I am actually a facilitator in a workshop on place-based learning all day Saturday, so I will not be able to join in on the meeting on Saturday.... my apologies for this situation, as I would love to have been able to be there. My sincere thanks to all the ACAG for this recognition... thanks again, Mike"

A follow-up award presentation was recorded after the meeting, which can be viewed here:

https://youtu.be/c87Bpj26eus

Saint Mary's University will host the 31st Meeting of the ACAG Division in the fall. Details to follow!

For updates on our division, our constitution, and our next annual meeting, check: http://community.smu.ca/acag.Submitted by:

Dr. David Lieske, President ACAG 2019-2022.