

# 70th Annual General Meeting Video Conference Tuesday, May 26, 2020, 2:00pm - 3:30pm ET

# Minutes

# Executive Committee at opening of the AGM:

President: Sanjay Nepal Vice President: Neil Hanlon Secretary-Treasurer: Joe Levdon Division Presidents: Atlantic: David Lieske Ontario: Susan Elliott Prairies: Janna Wilson Québec: Chantal Déry Western: Claire Hay Councillors: Matt Farish Jennifer Silver Nancy Worth Nathalie Gravel Student Councillor: Trevor Wideman

## Welcome

1. Approval of Agenda\*

Motion to accept the agenda

Dave Lieske/Nancy Worth Motion carried

 Approval of the Minutes of the 69th Annual General Meeting\*, Tuesday, May 30, 2019. University of Winnipeg.

Motion to accept the minutes

Janna Wilson/Trevor Wideman Motion carried

## 3. Announcements

- a. Memorials a moment of silence was observed while the names of the deceased were displayed.
- b. Undergraduate Awards the award winners, identified by departments, were announced. They receive a complimentary 1-year membership to the CAG in 2021. Congratulations to all winners, and thank you to all the departments who submitted candidates.
- c. CAG 2020 Awards the recipients of the CAG 2020 awards were announced. Thank you to all who nominated a colleague for a CAG Award, all nominees were deserving of recognition. In some award categories, nominees are retained for an additional two years after first nomination.

## REPORTS

4. The Canadian Geographer (TCG) – Editor's Report\*

Nadine Schuurman presented the *TCG* Editor's Report, highlighting that *TCG* is in a strong position. The difficulty in finding reviewers continues. The team is aiming to get the time from submission to original decision down to under 60 days. Nadine shared that the 2018 Impact Factor (IF) is 1.141; the 2019 IF will be available in June. She presented the papers with the most citations and shared that 50-60% of papers have never been cited. Increasing citations will improve the IF. Downloads are increasing, which impacts the revenue stream from Wiley. Nadine invited those who have access to funds to publish Open Access (OA) papers, as OA papers lead to higher downloads. She also explained that *TCG* can designate two papers as Freely Available (FA) per year, and that all papers released in the first issue of each year are FA for that year. Nadine confirmed that all submissions, regardless of where they come from, are given equal consideration and attention, as long as they are related to geography.

Motion to receive the Editor's Report

Chantal Déry/Nathalie Gravel Motion carried

- 5. Officers' Reports:
  - a. Secretary-Treasurer's Report i. Financial Statements 2019\*

Joe Leydon presented the Financial Statements for 2019. He explained that the qualified opinion in the audit related to CAG regional division and study groups funds. The financial statements submitted by the divisions and study groups in the absence of supporting bank statements were deemed insufficient by the auditors to render an unqualified opinion. Due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, division and study group treasurers were unable to access the necessary documentation. The qualified opinion refers only to these funds; the auditors expressed no concerns relating to the financial reporting of the CAG. The presentation of the treasurer focused only on the CAG central operations.

Joe explained the expenses and revenues in 2019 compared to 2018. The membership revenue has recovered in 2019 compared to 2018. *TCG* is no longer eligible for the SSHRC Grant because it is not an Open Access journal. Travel expenses were significantly higher in 2018 due to the IGU, with more funds set aside for student support and executive travel for conference planning. Travel expenses returned to normal in 2019. The office expenses cover everything required to run the central office: salary, rent, liability insurance, website fees, membership management software, etc. The association recorded a small deficit in 2018, and returned a small surplus in 2019. Joe also noted that the CAG's investments remain stable and that losses incurred in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic were recovered in April.

Motion to accept the 2019 Financial Statements

Neil Hanlon/Dave Lieske Motion carried

### ii. Budget 2020

Joe highlighted the projected revenues, expenses, and surplus for 2020. He has recommended that rather than allocating the surplus now, we hold off given the uncertain economic climate.

Motion to accept the 2020 Budget	Neil Hanlon/Susan Elliott Motion carried
Motion to approve a 2% increase in regular membership fees for 2021	Nancy Worth/Nathalie Gravel Motion carried
Motion to appoint Andrews & Co. as Auditors for 2020	Susan Elliott/Neil Hanlon Motion carried

### b. President's Report\*

Sanjay Nepal presented the President's Report, highlighting two key items. First, that the membership numbers have increased in 2019 after the record low in 2018 (due to the IGU meeting registration including CAG membership that year). Second, that the issues of equity and diversity brought forward in 2019 led to the creation

\* Written reports available on website: www.cag-acg.ca/cag-agm-2020

\* Written reports available on website: www.cag-acg.ca/cag-agm-2020

of an Awards Revisions Subcommittee that worked to improve the awards nomination and adjudication procedures to ensure equity and diversity in CAG awards.

Motion to receive the President's Report

Chantal Déry/Joe Leydon Motion carried

- 6. Division Reports
  - a. Atlantic\*
    - b. Québec\*
    - c. Ontario\*
    - d. Prairie\*
    - e. Western\*

Motion to receive all Division reports

Joe Leydon/Trevor Wideman Motion carried

- 7. National and International Affairs
  - a. The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences (CFHSS) Sanjay Nepal is the CAG representative for the CFHSS.
  - b. The Canadian Federation of Earth Sciences (CFES) Report\* Mary-Louise Byrne is the CAG representative for CFES.

Motion to receive the reports

Dave Lieske/Joe Leydon Motion carried

## OTHER BUSINESS

8. Nominations from the floor to the Elections Committee

In 2021 the CAG will be seeking nominations for one Vice President, two Councillors, and one Student Councillor. The Elections Committee is composed of four members: Past President as Chair, two members chosen from the floor at the AGM, and one member of the Executive Committee. Jean Andrey and Evan Cleave volunteered from the floor.

Motion to ratify the Nominations Committee for 2021

9. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn

Wayne Forsythe/Derrek Eberts Motion carried

Nancy Worth

### Executive Committee at closing of the AGM:

President: Neil Hanlon Past President: Sanjay Nepal Secretary-Treasurer: Joe Leydon **Division Presidents:** Atlantic: David Lieske Ontario: Susan Elliott Prairies: Janna Wilson Québec: Chantal Déry Western: Claire Hay Councillors: Nancy Worth Nathalie Gravel Matt Dyce Craig Coburn Student Councillor: Trevor Wideman