

Annual report - 2020

Prairie Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers

The primary annual activity of the Prairie Division was the annual conference. The 43rd Annual Meeting of the Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers (PCAG) was held Sept. 27 - 30, 2019, at Saskatchewan Polytechnic Moose Jaw Campus (SASKPOLY), Moose Jaw, SK. The meeting was hosted jointly by the University of Regina and SASKPOLY with financial support from SASKPOLY, the University of Regina Faculty of Arts, the University of Regina President's Office, and the Prairie Research Adaptation Collaborative. There were 23 oral paper presentations (10 by students) across 7 sessions Saturday morning, plus 17 poster presentations (10 by students). A Saturday afternoon field trip was facilitated by Dave Sauchyn, University of Regina, PARC. Field trip participants visited the Claybank Brick Plant National Historic Site of Canada and hiked to the clay pits in the nearby Dirt Hills. The evening banquet included an entertaining and informative keynote address given by Soe Myint, Professor at the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, Arizona State University. The evening concluded with the Division's traditional "Geographical Slide Competition".

This year, one Division award was presented. The John H. Warkentin Award for Scholarly Contributions to the Geography of the Western Interior was awarded to Professor Xulin Guo, University of Saskatchewan. Congratulations to Professor Xulin Guo!

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Sunday morning with 10 attendees. At the AGM, the following notable items were discussed:

- 1. The adoption of the CAG Statement on Collegial Conduct and Respectful Exchange. It was decided that the PCAG Executive will review the CAG statement and provide responses via email on whether to adopt this statement as is, or make modifications.
- 2. Student Presentation Awards. A total of 21 student presenters were awarded a CAG student membership and 20 cash prizes of \$150 (included 1 joint presentation of \$75 each for a total of 21 student awards). These awards are made annually to students who present at the PCAG meeting and are made in memory of Paul Simpson-Housley.
- **3.** Addition of Saskatchewan Polytechnic to PCAG Institutional membership. A motion was carried to add SASKPOLY to the institutional membership of PCAG. This revision will be noted in PCAG Constitution and the revised constitution will be circulated by the Secretary-Treasurer via email 30 days prior to the PCAG AGM for consideration.
- 4. PCAG Executive. PCAG would like to thank
 - a. Derrek Eberts for his past efforts as PCAG president and his continued service as Past President.
 - b. Bob Patrick for his extended and continued service as secretary-treasurer.

Current Executive

Position	Held By	Term Expires
President	Janna Wilson (UM)	2022
Past-President	Derrek Eberts (BU)	2022
Secretary-Treasurer	Bob Patrick (U of S)	2020
1. Member at Large	Kristen Lowitt (BU)	2021
2. Member at Large	OPEN (U of M)	2021
3. Member at Large	Gina Sylvestre (U of W)	2020
4. Member at Large	Douglas Munski (UND)	2020
5. Member at Large	Julia Siemes (U of R)	2021
6. Member at Large	Kamil Zaniewski (Lakehead)	2020
Student Member	Troy Wilson (U of R)	2020

The Division also reminds the community that the latest edition, Volume 21, of Prairie Perspectives: Geographical Essays is now available (along with all previous ones) for download on the Division's website (http://pcag.uwinnipeg.ca). The journal is fully peer reviewed and open access. Readers may be interested to know that a new feature — "Across the Division" — has been added to the journal as a means of communicating noteworthy events and announcements from member institutions for the previous year.

The upcoming 2020 Annual Meeting is tentatively scheduled to be hosted in the fall by Brandon University in either Virden, MB or remotely (to be determined).

Respectfully submitted,

Janna Wilson, Ph.D.

Janna Wilson

President, Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers Senior Instructor Department of Environment and Geography Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources University of Manitoba

Email: Janna.wilson@umanitoba.ca