

Recipients of the Julian M. Szeicz Award for Early Career Achievement Récipiendaires du Prix Julian M. Szeicz pour réalisations en début de carrière



2023 - Rachel Herron

In recognition of her appointment as a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Rural and Remote Mental Health. Dr. Herron is one of the leading early-career health geographers in Canada. She has already gained international recognition for her original, high quality and impactful scholarship on rural dementia care.



2022 – Sarah Rotz

In recognition of her research on the ways in which industrial capitalism, settler colonialism, racism, and patriarchy shape contemporary food systems and farming landscapes. She is at the forefront of scholarship and praxis that seeks to reimagine and transform the Canadian and global food systems with a view to racial, social and economic justice.



2021 - Michelle Rutty

In recognition of her research on tourism, which has advanced tourism climatology by increasing our understanding of the complexity tourists' climatic preferences and called into question the highly cited macroeconomic models that had been used to evaluate how climatic resources for tourism would be redistributed under climate change.



2020 - Gabriel Fauveaud

In recognition of his expertise in urban geography, particularly in the Global South, where he seeks to understand the relationships of power and the patterns of exclusion and marginalization that these new forms of urbanization produce.



2019 - Carissa Brown

In recognition of her expertise in species' response to climate change, and the dissemination of her research through highly cited publications as well as to the media and the public.



2018 - Jennifer Korosi

In recognition of her expertise in the fields of limnology, paleolimnology and biogeochemistry, and her research in ecosystem change.



2017 - Jennifer Silver

In recognition of her research program that examines contemporary oceans governance and marine resource management.



2016 - Simon Springer

In recognition of his significant contributions to the development and promotion of critical geography in Canada and beyond.



2015 - Chantelle Richmond

In recognition of her contributions to both research and training in the area of the geographies of Indigenous Health, with a focus on applied Community Based Research and knowledge translation.



2014 - Matthew Schnurr

In recognition of his innovative contributions to the fields of Geography and International Development Studies and the intersection between the two.



2013 Martin Alexander Andresen

In recognition of his dual contributions to the geographies of crime within cities and international trade that have employed rigorous statistical analyses and emphasized Canadian perspectives.



2012 Rachel Bezner-Kerr

In recognition of her contribution to development geography through applied and community-based research".



2011 Jeffrey Masuda

For his contribution to geography that bridges environmental health governance, participatory action research, social and environmental justice, and community-driven knowledge translation



2010 Heather Castleden

For her contribution to the geography of environment, health and indigenous community-based research.



2009 - Jason Gilliland

For his contribution to the geography of children in the city, which combines ideas and methods from urban, health, and well-being geographies.



2008 - Isaac Luginaah

For his contribution to health geography through his mixed methods research on the environmental determinants of health.



2007 - NO AWARD



2006 - Philip Kelly for his contributions to development studies in South-East Asia.



2005 - Michael Sawada, for spearheading the creation of the webbased Tsunami Disaster Mapping Portal (DMapP).



2004 - NO AWARD



2003 - Allison M. Williams, for her role in developing the concept of the rapeutic landscapes.