Annual report – 2018 Prairie Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers

The primary annual activity of the Division was the annual conference. The 41st Annual Meeting of the Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers (PCAG) was held Sept. 29 to Oct. 1, 2017, at the Morris Multiplex, in Morris, Manitoba. The meeting was hosted by the Department of Geography and Geographic Information Science, University of North Dakota, with support from colleagues at the University of Winnipeg, and sponsored by the Association of North Dakota Geographers, the Dakota Science Center, and the Virginia George Inheritance Fund. There were 59 registrants, including 25 students and 8 retirees. A total of 25 papers were presented across 6 concurrent sessions Saturday morning, plus 6 posters – the majority were by students. Participants enjoyed a Saturday afternoon field trip across "Morris-Emerson Manitoba Environs", hosted by David McDowell, including visits to Quebecois/French settlements, the St. Joseph Museum in the RM of Montcalm (featuring agricultural displays, stationary engines, and a heritage display dedicated to Manitoba's now defunct sugar beet industry), and the border town of Emerson, which has attracted considerable media attention in recent months. The evening banquet included a career-spanning keynote address given by Dr. Randy Widdis, University of Regina, entitled "The Northern Plains and Prairies as Frontier, Borderland, and Bordered Land". The evening concluded with the Division's traditional "Great Canadian Geographical Slide Competition". An exhaustive search of our records has failed to reveal who won.

This year, two Division awards were presented. The "Early Career Award" was presented to Dr. Jonathan Peyton, University of Manitoba. The award recognizes early career appointees, normally within five years of graduation from a PhD, who have made significant scholarly contributions to the discipline and/or demonstrated exceptional achievement in teaching. Congratulations to Dr. Peyton! Also this year, the inaugural PCAG President's Award was presented to Drs. Douglas and Laura Munski, University of North Dakota. The award is made at the discretion of the President of the Division to recognize the outstanding contribution of a member to the Division, its members, or member institutions.

The upcoming Annual Meeting for 2018 will be hosted by the Department of Environment and Geography, University of Manitoba, and held at Lakeview Hecla Resort, in Hecla, Manitoba, Sept. 28 to 30.

Respectfully submitted,

Derrek Eberts, President, Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers