

Website: https://pcaq.uwinnipeq.ca/index.htm

2021 Annual Report of the Prairie Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers

Submitted to the Canadian Association of Geographers May 13, 2022

The primary activity of Prairie Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers (PCAG) is the annual conference, which is typically held on the last weekend of September. The 2021 conference was hosted virtually by Brandon University on September 24 and 25. The conference was well attended with a total of 71 registrants including 22 students. Of the 22 paper presentations (20 oral; 2 poster), 13 were made by students (11 oral; 2 poster). Gordon Goldsborough from the University of Manitoba delivered the Keynote address: "Mapping historic Manitoba: Development, themes, and applications."

The **Annual Executive Meeting** was held virtually **on September 20, 2021** and the **Annual Business Meeting** was held virtually **December 20, 2021.** Gina Sylvestre from University of Winnipeg stepped in as Acting President for the Annual Business meeting.

Annual Executive and Business Meeting Overview

1. Approval of terms of reference for a new award

a. Outstanding Undergraduate Coursework Prize

2. PCAG Awards nominations accepted and awarded

- a. Early Career Award: Colin Whitfield (School of Environment and Sustainability, University of Saskatchewan)
- b. Welsted Award for Service to Geography in the Western Interior: Brian McGregor (Department of Geography, University of Winnipeg)
- c. Paul Simpson-Housley / CAG Student Travel Awards
 - 13 CAG Student Awards (\$150 each; plus \$50 CAG membership) for 2021 PCAG conference presentations

3. Prairie Perspectives: Geographical Essays Renewal Committee

 a. A sub-committee will be formed with representation from all member units to discuss a re-imagined *Prairie Perspectives*. Current suggestions include *Prairie Perspectives* becoming an undergraduate publication to feature the PCAG Departmental Awardwinning papers.

4. PCAG Executive

 Nominations and Elections – Douglas Munski term extended to 2023; Bob Patrick to 2023; Chris Malcolm to 2023; Gina Sylvestre to 2023; Bonnie Hallman 2023 (resigned April 2022).

Position	Held By	Term Expires
President	Janna Wilson (UM)	2022
Past-President	Derrek Eberts (BU)	2022
Secretary-Treasurer	Bob Patrick (USASK)	2023
1. Member at Large	Christopher Malcolm (BU)	2023
2. Member at Large	Vacant (UM)	

3. Member at Large	Gina Sylvestre (UW)	2023
4. Member at Large	Douglas Munski (UND)	2023
5. Member at Large	Julia Siemer (UR)	2023
6. Member at Large	Kamil Zaniewski (Lakehead)	2023
Student Member	Matt Paterson (BU)	2022

The Division also reminds the community that the latest edition, Volume 22, of *Prairie Perspectives: Geographical Essays* is now available (along with all previous ones) for download on the Division's website (https://www.cag-acg.ca/pcag-home). The journal is fully peer reviewed and open access.

The upcoming PCAG Annual Meeting will be hosted in person (with a virtual option), September 23-25, 2022 by the University of Winnipeg.

Respectfully submitted

Janna Wilson, PhD

President, Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers Senior Instructor Department of Environment and Geography Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources University of Manitoba

Email: <u>Janna.wilson@umanitoba.ca</u>

Approved by PCAG Executive (Email, May 10, 2022)