

Website: https://pcag.uwinnipeg.ca/index.htm

## Annual report - 2021

## **Prairie Division of the Canadian Association of Geographers**

The primary annual activity of the Prairie Division is typically the annual conference held in the 3<sup>rd</sup> or 4<sup>th</sup> week of September. Due to Covid-19, the 44<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers (PCAG) to be hosted by Brandon University in Virden Manitoba was postponed.

No Division awards were presented this year.

The Annual Executive Meeting was held virtually on January 26, 2021 with 8 attendees. No Annual General Meeting was held.

## **Executive Meeting Highlights (January 26, 2021)**

- 1. The adoption of the CAG Statement on Collegial Conduct and Respectful Exchange. An email was circulated previously and the PCAG Executive unanimously decided to adopt this policy and to add it to the PCAG website.
- 2. Addition of Saskatchewan Polytechnic to PCAG Institutional membership. At the 2019 PCAG Annual Meeting it was agreed that SaskPoly would become the next member institution. Unfortunately, PCAG Executive learned of the suspension of the SaskPoly Geomatics Program and it was determined that a Constitutional amendment adding SaskPoly as member institution was not necessary.
- **3. Transfer of Banking to CAG.** Decision was unanimous to transfer PCAG banking over to CAG for administration purposes.
- **4. PCAG Executive.** Nominations and Elections: Douglas Munski term extended till 2023; Bob Patrick extended to 2021; Chris Malcolm added 2023; Gina Sylvestre extended till 2021; Bonnie Hallman added till 2023.

Position	Held By	Term
		Expires
President	Janna Wilson (University of Manitoba)	2022
Past-President	Derrek Eberts (Brandon University)	2022
Secretary-Treasurer	Bob Patrick (University of Saskatchewan)	2021
1. Member at Large	Chris Malcolm (Brandon University)	2023
2. Member at Large	Bonnie Hallman University of Manitoba)	2023
3. Member at Large	Gina Sylvestre (University of Winnipeg)	2021
4. Member at Large	Douglas Munski (University of North Dakota)	2023
5. Member at Large	Julia Siemer (University of Regina)	2021
6. Member at Large	Kamil Zaniewski (Lakehead University)	2021
Student Member	None at this time	2021

## Other Items

- 1. PCAG Webpage: Transferred over to CAG
- 2. Prairie Perspectives: A meeting regarding the future of Prairie Perspectives: Geographical Essays was held virtually on March 26, 2021 and it was determined that a more in-depth discussion on future directions for Prairie Perspectives and the Prairie Division was needed. As such, subcommittees to discuss will be organized in the upcoming year.

The Division also reminds the community that the latest edition, Volume 22, of Prairie Perspectives: Geographical Essays is now available (along with all previous ones) for download on the Division's website (https://www.cag-acg.ca/pcag-home). The journal is fully peer reviewed and open access. Readers may be interested to know that a new feature – "Across the Division" – has been added to the journal as a means of communicating noteworthy events and announcements from member institutions for the previous year.

The upcoming 2022 Annual Meeting is tentatively scheduled to be hosted virtually in the fall by Brandon University.

Respectfully submitted,

Janna Wilson, Ph.D.

President, Prairie Division, Canadian Association of Geographers Senior Instructor Department of Environment and Geography Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources University of Manitoba

Email: Janna.wilson@umanitoba.ca