

The 68th Annual General Meeting Centre des congrès de Québec, 306B, Québec City Monday, August 6th, 2018, 16:00-18:00

Minutes

CAG Executive at opening of the AGM:

President: Dan Shrubsole Vice President: Sanjay Nepal Secretary-Treasurer: Joseph Leydon Executive Coordinator: Kathryn Laferriere **Division Presidents** Atlantic: Peter Bush Ontario: Sarah Mason-Renton Prairie: Derrek Eberts Québec: Martin Simard Western: Leith Deacon Councillors Matthew Farish Jennifer Silver Niem Huynh Rémy Tremblay Laurel Ann Muldoon (Student Councillor)

Welcome

1. Approval of Agenda**

Motion to accept the agenda

Leith Deacon/Derrek Eberts Motion carried

 Approval of the Minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting, Thursday, June 1st, 2017. York University, Toronto.*

Motion to accept minutes

Nadine Schuurman/Evan Cleave Motion carried

3. Announcements

- a. Memorials a moment of silence was observed while the names of the deceased were displayed.
- b. Undergraduate Awards the award winners, identified by departments, were announced. They will receive a complimentary 1 year membership to the CAG in 2019. Congratulations to all winners, and thank you to all the departments who submitted candidates.

REPORTS

- 4. Officers' Reports:
 - a. President's Report*

Dan Shrubsole reviewed his report. He thanked Université Laval for hosting the IGU-CAG-NCGE, as well as the iGeo, and noted that the CAG will not be receiving any surplus, levy, or membership dues this year given the significant loss that Laval has experienced. During the planning, it was decided that all conference participants would automatically become CAG members in 2018 and that the LOC would contribute \$25/member to help cover the lost membership revenues, but this will not happen given the deficit. The CAG is assuming we will not receive any revenues from the conference, yet the new members can be seen as an investment in making our organization more international, with the hopes that they will renew their memberships in future years. He highlighted some of the ways we are better supporting the

members, including new members-only resources and a potential new study group on US-Canada Relations & Interactions. He also outlined the ways the CAG will be providing more funds to support the study groups and the annual conference. Dan closed by saying that it has been a pleasure to serve as CAG President, as he moves into his new role as Past President and Sanjay Nepal becomes President.

Motion to accept the President's Report

Dan Shrubsole/Jean Andrey Motion carried

b. Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Joe Leydon reviewed the Financial Statement and discussed the transition from the Montreal to the Ottawa branch of KPMG, the auditors. He explained the ways KPMG has changed the reporting and categorization of certain figures, which account for the variations seen in the statement. He noted that our short-term investments remain strong, that we have been drawing down the 50th Anniversary fund and the Future Meetings fund, as planned, with most of the funds being used in the planning of this conference. In 2017 we received royalties from Wiley that were associated with previous years, as well as a substantial surplus from the CAG 2017 conference at York University, which has led to a surplus in 2017 despite slightly higher office costs due to the transition from Montreal to Ottawa. He also reviewed the 2018 budget, noting the projected deficit due to reduced membership revenues, the loss of eligibility for the SSHRC grant, and the loss of revenues from the 2018 conference. The surplus in 2017 will cover the 2018 deficit as well as new initiatives, such as additional support for the 2018 conference (interest-free loan to LOC, in-kind support, and additional funds for Wiley speaker), a set of funds set aside for the study groups to apply for to host events at the conference, and support for Dan Smith's GeogNews replacement. Any leftover surplus will be invested.

Motion to accept the Financial Statement
--

Motion to accept the 2018 Budget

Joe Leydon/Nadine Schuurman Motion carried

Derrek Eberts/Nadine Schuurman Motion carried

Motion to allow the Executive Committee to consider selecting new auditors, given the subpar service experienced this year, and appoint a selected auditor Joe Leydon/Matthew Hatvany Motion carried

5. The Canadian Geographer - Editor's Report*

Nadine Schuurman reviewed her report. She recapped the move to online only in 2017 and noted that the largest challenge continues to be finding reviewers. She explained that TCG is no longer eligible for the SSHRC grant, which is now reserved for Open Access journals. While this is not feasible for TCG, she noted that the new Wiley contract has a provision for two articles to be designated OA each year, and additional articles to be made OA for a period of 6 weeks. She also announced that the 2017 Impact Factor increased to 1.477, the highest it has been in the history of the journal.

- 6. Student Councillor Report*
- 7. Division Reports
 - a. Atlantic*
 - b. Québec*
 - c. Ontario*
 - d. Prairie*
 - e. Western*

Motion to accept Student Councillor/Division reports

Dan Shrubsole/Leith Deacon Motion carried

- 8. National and International Affairs
 - a. The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences (CFHSS)
 - b. The Canadian Federation of Earth Sciences (CFES) Report*

Motion to accept the CFES Report

Nadine Schuurman/Derrek Eberts Motion carried

OTHER BUSINESS

9. Invitation: 2019 AGM at the University of Winnipeg The 2019 CAG Conference will be hosted by the University of Winnipeg in Manitoba from May 27 to 31. The theme is Geographies of Resistance

As the new President, Sanjay acknowledged the incredible work Dan has done over the past two years and thanked the members for entrusting him with this new role.

10.Adjournment

CAG Executive at closing of the AGM:

President: Sanjay Nepal Past President: Dan Shrubsole Secretary-Treasurer: Joseph Leydon Executive Coordinator: Kathryn Laferriere **Division Presidents** Atlantic: Peter Bush Ontario: Sarah Mason-Renton Prairie: Derrek Eberts Québec: Martin Simard Western: Leith Deacon Councillors Matthew Farish Jennifer Silver Nancy Worth Nathalie Gravel Laurel Ann Muldoon (Student Councillor)

* Written reports available on website.

** Written reports available at door.